DIY: Triple Layer Ombre Cake

So because I wasn’t feeling too good last week I didn’t post, but I’m back now with a pretty cool DIY/How To. This week it was my sisters birthday, so I made her this cake.

Whole cakeslice

So for the three layers I used the amount of batter I would normally use for 2 cakes, then coloured them separately. I baked them then let them cool completely before stacking them with icing between each layer. For the outer decoration, I covered the whole thing in white icing to fill any gaps between the layers, then put a mint coloured icing around the base. There was extra icing so we piped around the sides of the cake, piped diamonds onto the sides, and then piped a message onto the top of the cake. For an extra little sparkle, I put silver balls (they’re like made of sugar) all around the sides, on the diamonds.

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out overall. My sister looked pretty happy with it too!

xoxo Vanessa

@LocknessDIY

Leave a comment